World Mental Health Day

image

Today is World Mental Health Day. Today we are bringing awareness of mental illnesses and what they truly mean.

The National Institute of Mental Health describes Major Depression as “severe symptoms that interfere with your ability to work, sleep, study, eat, and enjoy life. An episode can occur only once in a person’s lifetime, but more often, a person has several episodes.”

I have Major Depression. It’s something that affects all aspects of my life. Some days are good. Some days area very, very bad. Yes I get “sad”, but depression is not just sadness. It’s truly so much more.

Symptoms of depression include:
– Feelings of sadness, anxiety, emptiness.
– Feelings of hopelessness and worthlessness.
– Loss of interest in activities and hobbies.
– Fatigue and decreased energy.
– Overeating/Loss of appetite.
– Insomnia/Excessive sleeping.
– Aches and pains, headaches.

There are days where I feel like a sun is shining in my mind. I can smile and mean it. Other days feel like something is pushing the air out of my lungs and telling me it would be easier on others if I wasn’t around.

Through therapy and relationships I have learned to live with my depression, but there are many out there that struggle to get through their day. Depression can be different from person to person, but all exhibit similar symptoms. Understanding depression can help you to understand and help those around you that need it.

I will not pretend to be an expert. I can only learn and help others through my experiences. I encourage you all to research and understand, not only depression, but all mental health disorders and illnesses.

Xoxo

Leave a Reply

